This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Burundi

Burundi is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Burundi. Information on all primary administrative regions in Burundi.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Burundi alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Burundi

There are 17 regions in Burundi in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Burundi
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bubanza Bubanza Province1.354,427Bubanza Bubanza12,728
Bujumbura Mairie Bujumbura Mairie Province2.800,000Bujumbura Bujumbura331,700
Bujumbura Rural Bujumbura Rural Province3.555,933Isale Isale-
Bururi Bururi Province4.493,490Bururi Bururi19,740
Cankuzo Cankuzo Province5.202,283Cankuzo Cankuzo6,585
Cibitoke Cibitoke Province6.490,949Cibitoke Cibitoke14,220
Gitega Gitega Province7.675,016Gitega Gitega23,167
Karuzi Karuzi Province8.479,683Karuzi Karuzi10,705
Kayanza Kayanza Province9.486,917Kayanza Kayanza19,443
Kirundo Kirundo Province10.602,089Kirundo Kirundo6,083
Makamba Makamba Province11.499,682Makamba Makamba19,642
Muramvya Muramvya Province12.303,482Muramvya Muramvya18,041
Muyinga Muyinga Province13.595,947Muyinga Muyinga71,076
Mwaro Province de Mwaro14.274,890Mwaro Mwaro4,924
Ngozi Ngozi Province15.719,158Ngozi Ngozi21,506
Rutana Rutana Province16.293,572Rutana Rutana20,893
Ruyigi Ruyigi Province17.369,797Ruyigi Ruyigi38,458